State Planning Commission appointments

The State Government has announced the appointment of two new members to the State Planning Commission (the Commission) as the Commission transitions from the formative stage to the implementation stage.

Mr Craig Andrew Holden, and Ms Helen Louise Dyer have been appointment to the Commission to allow for the change in expertise to oversee this next important phase.

Three members have resigned from the State Planning Commission Ms Fairlie Delbridge, Ms Janet Finlay and Mr Matt Davis.

“This is an exciting time for the Commission and South Australia as key reforms to our planning system that have been in the works for the last few years start coming into effect,” said Minister for Planning Stephan Knoll.

“Today marks the next era of the Commission, with a strong focus on the Planning and Design Code and ePlanning solution.

“This follows the formative stage, where the Commission was established and delivered two key foundational documents (Community Engagement Charter & State Planning Policies) that set the scene for reform.

“It’s important that the next phase of the Commission has a strong focus on planning and development and working with key stakeholders.

 “The next stage of the Commission’s work in implementing these reforms will require a level of technical skill and expertise which Mr Holden and Ms Dyer bring to the table.

“Both Mr Holden and Ms Dyer are well regarded and have strong networks within the planning and development and local government sectors.

“I extend my sincere gratitude to the outgoing members of the Commission and thank them for the important role they’ve all played in helping develop and drive these reforms.”

The new Chair for the State Planning Commission, Mr Michael Lennon said that Mr Anderson’s review of the State Commission Assessment Panel (SCAP) and recommendations for the next phase of the Commission have shown the need for greater cross pollination of skills and intelligence between both the State Planning Commission and the SCAP.

“This assessment has facilitated the opportunity to work with members about the technical skill required, and members have been very willing to support the next phase by considering who is best placed in each role,” said Mr Lennon.

“The new composition of the State Planning Commission will allow further support for the critical delivery the new Planning and Design Code by July 2020.

“The review recommended a number of actions which I will work with the Chair of the SCAP to introduce. Some of the recommendations are already in place such as greater transparency of decision-making by the SCAP.

 “Further detail about the SCAP review recommendations and actions will be discussed by the Commission in the near future and I look forward to seeing more of the changes actioned by the Commission and SCAP.

“I would also like to thank Mr Anderson and Ms Delbridge, Ms Finlay and Mr Davis for their formative work in getting the reform to this important next stage in delivering the new planning and development system for South Australia.” 


Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Created with NationBuilder