Premier’s NAIDOC Awards

Premier Steven Marshall hosted the Premier’s NAIDOC Awards last night at a ceremony at Ayres House to formally recognise and celebrate the outstanding contributions made by the Award finalists to the lives of Aboriginal People in South Australia.


The Premier’s NAIDOC Award recognises the outstanding achievements and services of an extraordinary South Australian who has made a significant contribution to the lives of Aboriginal People in South Australia.

Speaking at the Awards last night Premier Steven Marshall announced Ms Joyleen Thomas as the 2018 Award winner, describing her as a passionate volunteer, an exceptional public servant and well respected Kokatha woman.

“Ms Thomas has made a significant contribution to the lives of Aboriginal South Australians through her longstanding commitment to Reconciliation, employment of Aboriginal people, social justice, and the preservation of Kokatha heritage, culture and their pursuit of self-determination,” said Premier Steven Marshall.

“I extend my sincerest congratulations to Ms Joyleen Thomas, and to all the other finalists – Mr Frank Clarke, Ms Winnie Warrior and Mr Ian Sansbury - thank you for your important contributions.”

The Premier also announced Miss Peshwah Fielding as the recipient of the Dr Alice Rigney Prize, which recognises an Aboriginal young person dedicated to their education.

“Congratulations to Miss Peshwah Fielding, a Year 12 student from the Wiltja Anangu Secondary College who is on track to complete her SACE at the end of this year in addition to completing a Certificate III in Sport and Recreation,” said Premier Steven Marshall.

“Peshwah is described as bright, bubbly, ambitious and dedicated to her education, and I wish her all the best in her studies and future endeavours.”

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Created with NationBuilder