Infrastructure SA Bill in State Parliament

The long-term prosperity of South Australia will be enhanced with the introduction of the Infrastructure SA Bill into State Parliament this week.

"Infrastructure SA will deliver a properly researched, methodically implemented infrastructure plan that will generate more investment, more jobs and greater prosperity for South Australia,” said Premier Steven Marshall.

“South Australia spends well over $1 billion a year on the infrastructure needed to get its product to market and that investment needs to be based on economic imperatives.

“This legislation will end the previous Labor Government’s practice of deciding infrastructure investment based around political considerations.

“One of reasons the South Australian economy crawled along during 16 years of Labor Government is the previous government’s poor decisions on infrastructure planning and investment.

“The introduction of the Infrastructure SA Bill 2018 Bill delivers on yet another election commitment.”

 Infrastructure SA will undertake four key activities:

  • Developing a 20-year State Infrastructure Strategy using consistent and robust analysis from public sector agencies and infrastructure providers. This plan will be renewed every 5 years and will set the long-term vision for South Australia’s infrastructure.
  • Developing annual Capital Intentions Statements that will prioritise potential major projects for government decisions over a 5-year time horizon.
  • Maintaining oversight of delivery and performance for all projects with a capital value of $50 million and over.
  • Providing policy advice, relating to infrastructure planning, delivery and use, including advice on appropriate funding and financing models.

The Infrastructure SA Board will combine the expertise of the public and private sectors in developing our major infrastructure plans for the future.

The Board will be led by an eminent independent chair and three independent, non-executive directors with industry experience and relevant qualifications.

The Board will also include Chief Executives of core agencies – the Department of the Premier and Cabinet, the Department of Treasury and Finance and the current Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure – as ex-officio members.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Created with NationBuilder