Donate to the SA Liberals

Michael Pengilly MP

State Member for Finniss

Electorate Office Contact Details:

Victor Harbor Office:

71 Victoria Street
Victor Harbor SA 5211

Telephone: (08) 8552 2152
Fax (08) 8552 4710
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Kingscote Office:

 44 Dauncey Street
Kingscote SA 5223

Telephone: (08) 8552 2152
Fax (08) 8552 4710


Michael Pengilly was born and raised on Kangaroo Island. He and his wife Jan have three grown children, Tim, Sarah and Patrick. Michael has held numerous positions before his pre-selection as the Liberal candidate for Finniss including Mayor of the Kangaroo Island Council, Chairman of the SA Country Fire Service Board, Chairman of the Hills Mallee and Southern Regional Health Service Board and farmer of his property near Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island.

In November 2005 the sitting Liberal Member for Finniss, Hon. Dean Brown announced his retirement from South Australian Parliament. Michael was pre-selected as Dean Brown’s successor and commenced his election campaign. The March 2006 State Elections saw Michael become the successful candidate as Liberal Member for Finniss and was elected to the State Parliament’s House of Assembly.  

Numerous shadow ministerial responsibilities have been held by Michael since entering Parliament. These include Parliamentary Secretary for Transport, Energy, Infrastructure and Regional Development, Shadow Minister for Veterans' Affairs, Tourism, Southern Suburbs and State/Local Government Relations.

Currently Michael is a Member of the Public Works Committee and the Joint Parliamentary Services Committee. The Act requires all public works valued above $4 million be presented to the Public Works Committee. This allows scrutiny of the value of the project and ensures where possible that the money is well spent. The Joint Parliamentary Service Committee is an Administrative Committee, established under the Parliament (Joint Services) Act 1985. It manages the services, building and precincts of the Parliament. It is appointed at the first sitting after each general election and continues for the life of that Parliament. 

Michael’s family have resided within the region for many decades and have faced a multitude of challenges in that time. As Member for Finniss, Michael is dedicated to dealing with issues that affect the various communities in his electorate and acts as a voice to make a real difference.

Electorate Profile

Boyle Travers Finniss (1807-1893) emigrated to South Australia in 1836 as one of Colonel Light's surveyors. At various times he occupied the positions of Deputy Surveyor-General, Police Commissioner, Legislative Councillor, Colonial Secretary and in 1856 was chosen as the first Premier and Chief Secretary of the Province. He surveyed southern Fleurieu Peninsula and other areas.

Area: approx. 5,876.6 km2

Location: This country district includes Kangaroo Island and parts of the Fleurieu Peninsula to the south of Adelaide incorporating farmland, popular residential and holiday seaside towns.

History: Created at the 1991 redistribution of electoral boundaries.


Latest Media Releases

View all articles >

Dusk to dawn speed limit reductions rejected by local MP

Aug 25, 2016

The Member for Finniss, Michael Pengilly has categorically rejected calls for dusk to dawn speed limit reductions on Kangaroo Island roads. 

Read more >

Open Up Parks to Beekeepers

Oct 06, 2015
Member for Finniss, Michael Pengilly MP, has written to Hon Ian Hunter MLC, Minister for Sustainability, Environment & Conservation, calling for National Parks on Kangaroo Island to be available for use by commercial apiarists.

Read more >

Liberal MPs demand Public Works Committee take further contamination evidence

Jul 24, 2014

Liberal Members of the Public Works Committee will today demand that the Tonsley Redevelopment Committee is recalled so that further contamination issues can be discussed in light of the recent Clovelly Park contamination crisis.

Read more >



Get Involved

Contact the State Liberal Secretariat

SA Shadow Cabinet
About the Party
State Policies
Join the Party
GPO BOX 20 Adelaide SA 5001
Phone: 08 8205 0255
Fax: 08 8205 0256