Donate to the SA Liberals

Natural Disasters Committee – 4th time lucky?

Sep 07, 2012

Hon Iain Evans MP

Shadow Treasurer

Natural Disasters Committee – 4th time lucky?

Liberal Member for Davenport Iain Evans has announced he will give notice to introduce a bill to the Parliament to establish a permanent parliamentary committee regarding natural disasters for the fourth time.

“I have three times previously introduced a bill to establish such a committee,” Mr Evans said.

“Twice the Government voted the bill down and defeated it. On the other occasion the bill lapsed due to the proroguing of Parliament.

“Now even the Government’s own members, who previously voted against the bill, are recommending a permanent parliamentary committee into natural disasters be established.

The multiparty Natural Resources Committee of the Parliament recommended the committee be established in a report into bushfire safety in the Mitcham Hills tabled in Parliament earlier this week.

“Today I will, for the fourth time, start the process of introducing a bill to establish a permanent parliamentary committee regarding natural resources by giving notice to introduce the bill,” Mr Evans said.

“The bill will then be debated later in the year.

“With summer approaching I encourage the Government to change their policy and vote for the bill.

“A permanent parliamentary committee will better prepare South Australia for natural disasters like bushfires,” Mr Evans said.



Get Involved

Contact the State Liberal Secretariat

SA Shadow Cabinet
About the Party
State Policies
Join the Party
GPO BOX 20 Adelaide SA 5001
Phone: 08 8205 0255
Fax: 08 8205 0256